American Heart Association offers courses at RLC MarketPlace

MT. VERNON, Ill. (Sept. 16, 2013) – More than two dozen training courses in the emergency medical services field are available for students through the American Heart Association (AHA) Training Center at the Rend Lake College MarketPlace.

One-day courses are offered in CPR/First Aid, Advanced Cardiac Life Support and Pediatric Advanced Life Support. The courses are all held from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. at the AHA Training Center.

The CPR/First Aid courses are scheduled for Tuesday, Oct. 29; Thursday, Nov. 21 and Tuesday, Dec. 10. This course teaches students to respond to emergencies, such as burns, cuts and other injuries, as well as cardiac and breathing emergencies for adults.

Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) also teaches students to help adults by gaining skills to treat victims of cardiac arrest or other cardiopulmonary emergencies. This course will be held on Monday, Oct. 28; Tuesday, Nov. 19 and Friday, Dec. 6.

On the other hand, Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) trains students to respond to emergencies for infants and children. This class meets from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 22 and Wednesday, Dec. 18.

Several two-day courses will also be offered at the Training Center in the RLC MarketPlace: BLS Instructor, PALS Preparatory and ACLS Preparatory. The two day courses last from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. both days.

To become a BLS (Basic Life Support) Instructor, students must learn about life-threatening emergencies and how to respond, including the uses of CPR and first aid. The course will meet on Wednesday, Nov. 20 and Thursday, Nov. 21.

Students interested in continuing to help infants and children can take the PALS Preparatory course to become recertified. The class meets on Wednesday, Sept. 25 and Thursday, Sept. 26; and Tuesday, Nov. 12 and Wednesday, Nov. 13.

Likewise, students needing recertification in Advanced Cardiac Life Support for adults can take the ACLS Preparatory course. The class meets four times this fall: Wednesday and Thursday, Sept. 18-19; Monday and Tuesday, Oct. 7-8; Wednesday and Thursday, Nov. 6-7 and Thursday and Friday, Dec. 12-13.

There are also two three-day courses available for students with the dream to become the instructor. The courses meet from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. all three days. PALS Instructor training meets Tuesday through Thursday, Sept. 24-26; and ACLS Instructor training meets Tuesday through Thursday, Nov. 5-7.

To register for one of the trainings above, contact the AHA Training Center at 618-437-5321, Ext. 2032 or by email at .

Search RLC News Articles

1098T online promo sq

rlcf scholarships apply promosq

enrollNowgiveNow
catalog
warriors
Canvas
foundation